Superintendent’s Hot Spots Availability Message
Superintendent's Update, Return to School Planning
Online Registration for New Students

School Committee

School Committee Staff Directory

Dr. Helen A. Friel
Assistant to the Superintendent/Clerk of the School Committee
508-799-3032
Friel@worcesterschools.net

Carleen M. Magri
Head Clerk
508-799-3032
Magric@worcesterschools.net

Eileen Sullivan
Principal Clerk
508-799-3032
Sullivane@worcesterschools.net

The Worcester School Committee is the legislative and policy-making body charged with supervision of the Worcester Public School System. Under Chapter 71, Section 37 of the Massachusetts General Laws, it

"shall have the power to select and to terminate the superintendent, shall review and approve budgets for public education in the district and shall establish educational goals and policies for the schools in the district consistent with the requirements of law and statewide goals and standards established by the Massachusetts Board of Education."

It also conducts collective bargaining with all employee organizations.

Under Chapter 71, Section 59 of the Massachusetts General Laws, the School Committee may, upon the recommendation of the Superintendent, also establish and appoint the following positions:

  • Assistant or Associate Superintendent(s)
  • School Business Administrator
  • Administrator of Special Education
  • School Physician
  • Registered Nurses
  • Legal Counsel

The School Committee may approve or disapprove the hiring of said positions.

Under Chapter 76, Section 1 of the Massachusetts General Laws, it

“shall approve a private school when satisfied that the instruction in all the studies required by law equals in thoroughness and efficiency, and in the progress made therein, that in the public schools in the same city.”

School Committee Members

Mayor Petty headshotMayor Joseph M. Petty
2 Grove Heights Drive
Worcester, MA 01605
508-799-1153
mayor@worcesterma.gov

Dianna L. Biancheria
8 Ventura Road
Worcester, MA 01604
508-753-3440
BiancheriaD@worcesterschools.net

Laura Clancey headshotLaura Clancey
2 Westport Circle
Worcester, MA 01605
774-823-6446
ClanceyLB@worcesterschools.net

John L. Foley headshotJohn L. Foley
6 Winter Hill Drive
Worcester, MA 01605
508-335-2307
JFoley@worcesterschools.net

Molly O. McCullough headshot

Molly O. McCullough
5 Hockanum Way
Worcester, MA 01606
774-502-8731
Mcculloughm@worcesterschools.net

John F. Monfredo headshotJohn F. Monfredo
8 Cherokee Road
Worcester, MA 01606
508-853-3444
Monfredoj@worcesterschools.net

Tracy O’Connell Novick headshotTracy O’Connell Novick
135 Olean Street
Worcester, MA 01602
774-437-2269
NovickT@worcesterschools.net

Translate